Just a taste

Hello all! This has been a long time coming I realize. My apologies if my absence has caused any (insert sentiment here___________________ ). Those of you following intently will know that I have been in France for a little over a week now for my alternative treatment. That whole process was a 4 day and dare I say, life changing experience? Yes. I do dare say. Wholeheartedly and without reservation! 
Even though it has only been a week, it feels like so much has happened…which is pretty accurate I suppose.
Only a few lines in and I’m already stumped! Not sure where to begin or what to say or how to describe what I have experienced. At least now I can take my time, think it through and not worry about the wifi kicking out or resort to sitting in the tub to write because that was, oddly, where I was getting the best signal.

Let’s start at the beggining as they say.
Upon my arrival in Nice, I found the bus stop that would take me to Castagniers les Moulins, thanks to some very helpful people at the airport. The bus driver confirmed that I was indeed on the right bus and off we went. Castagniers is about 15kms from the airport heading away from Nice. What I did not realize at the time was that there is another hotel of the same name mid way between the two. You’ve probably already guessed what happened next but I’ll fill in the gaps anyway.
After a relatively short ride, I saw the hotel name and emblem coming up and proudly hopped off without having to rely on the bus driver to point it out to me. I excitedly made my way over to the hotel, gear in tow and was greeted at the front desk with…confusion. Not only was there no reservation in my name but they had no idea what I was talking about when I told them about the ‘seminar’ I had just flown halfway around the world to attend. They were very accommodating however and assured me they had plenty of vacancy.

When they saw the obvious confusion on my face and the not so subtle hints of my impending breakdown, one lady suggested that perhaps I was referring to the other affiliated hotel (of which there are only 2…..in the world!!!) which was just a little further up the road. Well, it turns out that is exactly what I was referring to.
With that mind bending mystery solved and a quick, 30 euro cab ride, we arrived at my final destination and thankfully avoided all the local headlines “confused Canadian loses his shit, arrested in roadside hotel lobby”.

Once I checked in to my room, much easier when you have the right hotel, I hopped in the shower, put on some comfy pants, went down to the bar, grabbed a bottle of wine and started getting ready for bed. Enjoying the sweet relief of finally being settled, I stepped out into the crisp evening air for a night cap on the balcony and….. wait for it….. promptly realized I had locked myself out. (see previous post).
From that point on, things have been pretty smooth and much less embarrassing.

I am still trying to work out how to explain/describe the following 4 days. It’s hard to even get my own head wrapped around the whole thing much less try to explain it coherently here. I had to take a few days to be on my own and absorb everything before writing about any of it.
It has been a very agreeable time, walking through Nice, taking pictures, drinking coffee in little bistros, totally anonymous and free. As much as I miss my sweet girl back home, this is all part of the process and really, this is exactly what I set out to do. So much more to come!!!

That’s all for now folks. I don’t want to give it all up in one shot, you know? There is plenty more to write about and I look forward to sharing it all with you.
Despite a couple of hickups, the theme still stands. It is a great day to be alive!!!
Please stay tuned.
I love you all!
xo

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Just a taste

  1. Jay

    The photos look great! Vive la France! XXX

  2. Just write what comes. It doesn’t have to “Make sense” All I want is for it to heal you. You could write it in russian and I would still read. All of us would. So don’t worry about “Explaining”. some things can’t and should not be analyzed. Just accepted as they are. Je pense à toi mon ami.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

