Prelude

What’s that old saying about good intentions? Something about road construction I think?….. best left alone for now.

The point here, is that my intention was to pick up the pace of my updates and for anyone following closely, you may have noticed a trend to the contrary. Well, far be it from me to put old proverbs to the test. Especially in this context.

I hope to remedy this situation in installments. Seeing as the last month or so has taken me to Florida, New Orleans, Toronto and Mexico, I have a fair bit of content to work with. I haven’t quite worked it all out yet. Keeping things in chronological order makes sense to me so that’s where I will start…. in my next update.

First I want to share with you, what I think is the most amazing gift I have ever received. I hope no one takes offense to that statement. I have received some incredible gifts in my life from incredible people and I don’t mean to belittle any of those, not to mention, in a more grandiose sense, the gift of life from my Mom or the gift of love from Carine or my friends and family. Those are intangible, priceless blessings that make me grateful to be alive.

No, what I am talking about is the kind of tangible, tactile gift that leaves you speechless or conversely makes you scream “Holy S#!T!!!!”. 

One of my oldest and dearest friends, Ryan managed to pull this little trick out of his hat with a little help from our old friends at Gibson guitars. I can’t quite remember what I said when it was presented to me although I do remember having to stifle the aforementioned expletive out of respect for the kids in the room. I can also admit that I may have been struggling to choke back a lump in my throat and a tear in my eye. Maybe. 

I am still floored by the thought and consideration that went into this. Behold!!!

ImageImage

I am happy to report that I have respectable callouses on my fingers for the first time in years. I will honour this gift as best I can by squeezing every ounce of inspiration I can out of this beautiful beast.

Thank you so much brother! Time to catch the sunset and do some strumming.

Good night all. A bientot!

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Prelude

  1. Jen Dempster

    What a wonderful gift and surprise. Love the post and yes – you deserve it! High kicks all around. Very fun post. 🙂

  2. Bernhard Heersink

    Make a record.(YouTube, or whatever…) I’d love to hear Al on the Gibson. Best wishes, Ben & Sue

  3. paul

    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

